The BootCamper's Journey: Week 10

ยท

4 min read

The BootCamper's Journey: Week 10

Introduction

I know, I know. The blog is coming out late. And I had a really good streak of releasing every Sunday too. Life happened and I got inundated with things, you'll live!

Now that we've dealt with the Elephant in the room, let's move on to what you really came here for.

Auth0

We started the week understanding authentication, authorisation and making sure that we knew the difference between them!

We used Auth0 to add authentication to some of our previous work. I have to admit their documentation is sweet and simple. It was so simple to follow and to implement, makes you wonder where we would be if all documentation was that easy to read and implement. Kudos to them.

Futuristic city The world if all documentation was easy to read

Code Review

The importance of branching in Git was not lost to us with the number of times it was repeated in previous lectures. We'd even branched out/merged in our previous project.

We then started doing some JavaScript questions (after we branched out) and then doing pull requests so that we could review the work of the other team members. We added comments and even changed some code!

Naturally, this type of review would be more thorough on a commercial level but I completely understand how important it is in the work field because deploying non-working code can be a catastrophe.

Deployment

We went over how to deploy websites on Heroku and Netlify and to make sure we understood, in School of Code fashion, we were made to deploy both a backend and a frontend on the aforementioned websites. Trust me, I'm quite confident with it now (for the coaches if any of them are reading...).

Documentation

So after I raved on about the amazing documentation I found auth0, of course, there had to be a part of a day where we discussed documentation!

After looking further into the importance of documentation, we were then tasked with making documentation of our previous work which was interesting, to say the least. Going back to try and understand your code and then trying to get people to work with it. It's like that meme,

When I wrote this code, only God and I understood what it did. NOW, only God knows ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ

so people out there, make sure you document your code as early as possible because you're saving yourself from a burden you wouldn't wish on anyone else.

Storybook

Next on the agenda was Storybook! We started using Storybook to make components, store them in Storybook and call the customised component whenever needed! I can see how useful Storybook would be working on large scale operations but at smaller scale ones, it may not be the right direction to go.

Gatsby js

We then went into Gatsby and that it is a static website generator. It breaks the usual convention and allows websites to be more secure and load faster. However, due to unforeseen circumstances, I wasn't able to dive into it and it's now my job for this week to implement it into a project to learn more about it!

Conclusion

Week 10 was an interesting week. After dealing with so much code in the previous week, it felt like a part of me was missing after not doing as much code! It felt 'slow' in comparison the hectic week that came before, but the change of pace was much appreciated!

This week we briefly go over fundamental computer science at a higher level that I am now so interested in after grasping an understanding (if you can call it that) of code.

Really excited to go into this week and see what is to come!

And that was week 10 in a nutshell!

If you're still reading, thank you so much, I hope to use this blog to post and share my journey and the useful knowledge I gain throughout my journey! I would love to connect with other developers to see what they're learning and learn from them - you can connect with me on:

Twitter: codewithmohamed

Github: codewithmohamed

Instagram: codewithmohamed

Youtube: Code with Mohamed

LinkedIn: Mohamed Mohamud

Email:

ย