The BootCamper's Journey: Week 4

The fourth week in the coding Bootcamp!

The BootCamper's Journey: Week 4

This week we started with Node.js!

Node.js Basics

After a few weeks of front-end learning, we were thrust into the underbelly of the front-end world, the back-end (I'm sure a back-end developer would say the same about the front-end to be honest). We learned about the basics of back-end and how to host a local server using Node.js - which would be integral to the work we would have to later in the week.

REST APIs

We jumped right into REST APIs. As a reminder for you guys, because I'm sure all of you already know, REST is a set of architectural constraints which can be implemented in multiple ways. The information (once requested) is usually represented in several formats (via HTTP of course) including:

  • JSON (JavaScript Object Notation)

  • Python

  • PHP

  • HTML

  • XLT

  • And even plain text

The most common way the information is represented is in JSON because despite its name JSON is language independent - simply put, you don't need JavaScript to use it.

How REST API works.gif How REST APIs work

HTTP Verbs

We used GET (read), POST(create), PUT(update/replace), PATCH (update/modify), and DELETE (self-explanatory, I refuse to put the obvious here) on a pre-built API to see how they function. We used Postman to see our results and to get used to the interface.

Express

We were told to get familiar and comfy with Express (a web framework for Node.js), and get comfy we did! Without it, we would have to write a lot more code to do the things we want. We also learned the importance of middleware and why/when they are used.

Final Thoughts

"Time and tide wait for no man" - Geoffrey Chaucer

And just like that, time continues to flow, and the fourth week is complete. Looking back through the week, I am amazed by the sheer amount of information we have had to consume.

This was an action-packed week, but thankfully/Alhamdulillah, I have been able to grasp most of what was taught through practice. With the amount of information that we are currently absorping in the Bootcamp, (though it hasn't happened) I am fully aware of how a "bad" week can significantly affect my learning experience. However, I'm assured by the fact that as long as I continue to persevere, code outside of the Bootcamp hours and ask questions whenever I need, that I'll make it through to the other side.

Consistency, perseverance, and resilience - the three characteristics I hope to stick with for the rest of the Bootcamp!

And that was week 4 in a nutshell!

If you're still reading, thank you so much, I hope to use this blog to post and share my journey and the useful knowledge I gain throughout it! I would love to connect with other developers to see what they're learning and learn from them - please connect with me on the following:

Twitter: @codewithmohamed

Github: github.com/codewithmohamed

LinkedIn: Mohamed Mohamud

Email: